Organisational development

A range of models and toolkits are available for organisations who wish to increase their effectiveness and impact.

If you would like further information on any of the resources described here, please contact the Hub via

Wales Africa Community Links (WACL) model of change

The WACL model of change is based upon the UN Gold Star Framework, and is most suitable for community and volunteer led international development organisations. There are five types of organisations identified in the model, each with individual indicators and differing levels of support available. 

  • Charitable Links focus on fundraising for anti-poverty projects, and should have a steering group and clear mission in place. The link should also have a bank account and sound financial management systems.
  • Learning Links focus on education, awareness raising and global learning rooted in their relationship with their partner community. These links engage local people with global issues, and have effective two-way communications which fosters mutual learning between the communities. 
  • Partnership Links involve volunteers with diverse skills in exchange visits that deepen relationships between communities. Community members are involved in needs assessments, planning and evaluating project activities. 
  • Development Links feature strong African leadership and coordination, evidenced by sound monitoring and evalution approaches, and deliver projects which are accountable to both donors and beneficiaries
  • UN Gold Star Community Links are judged to be shining examples of mutually beneficial voluntary and community enterprise, enriching both communities in Africa and here in Wales. 

NIDOS Organisational MOT

The NIDOS Effectiveness toolkit or Organisational MOT is most suitable for small and medium sized international development organisations. The toolkit uses a self-rating system to analyse how organisations meet 17 MOT benchmarks of basic good practice & legal requirements, which focus on accountability, governance, learning, partnerships and sustainability.

The self-rating is measured using 5 levels of effectiveness. The first 2 columns (Must have, Should have) are the ones that all organisations should meet to pass the MOT definition.

The 5 levels of effectiveness are;

  • Must have - the legal requirements
  • Should have - basic good practice
  • Good - what is expected of an effective organisation
  • Excellent - organisations that have developed their practices, systems & outcomes to a great extent
  • Outstanding - sector-leading innovative activities, with an ability to influence the international development agenda & produce impressive outcomes

BOND Health Check

This section is currently under development. Please check back later for further information. Thank you.